Spring in Tokyo (Part 2): Chiyoda

Flickr #casiaintokyo
Part 1Part 3Part 4Part 5Part 6Part 7Part 8Part 9Part 10Part 11

Day 2

I woke up early and it was so cold. So while I was getting ready, I thought of taking a soak in the tiny ofuro because I was up so early. It was very shiok but I came out after a while and Yuxuan was like what were you doing? What T_T I thought you were still sleeping what T_T
IMG_5049
Combini breakfast from the 7-Eleven just below our apartment.
Hojicha and karaage and yakionigiri and I had to give Yuxuan the egg one because mid-eating I encountered a mass of mayonnaise 😦 Onigiri was yummy though, even the one I couldn’t eat.

Then we made our way to Tokyo station! 🙂
IMG_5051
Grand ceiling caught my eye the moment I stepped out. You have to see it in person because this picture is so cropped even at 18mm. Also only realised there was a netting when I zoomed in on my computer.
IMG_5053
Tokyo Station Marunouchi Building. Gorgeous!!!!!!!
IMG_5057
IMG_5058
Bicycle lanes that the whole world ought to adopt.

So we were heading towards the Imperial Palace Plaza (皇居前広場). The map wasn’t of much help but there were signs guiding us along. The signs were huge too.
image
Halfway through, the signs will disappear. But all you need to do is follow tourists (they are easy to spot).
IMG_5064
Somewhere around here on, I started to not know where exactly I was because everything and everywhere was so pretty.
IMG_5068
We weren’t even there yet but wow, anything could be the Imperial Palace.
IMG_5113
Sakura everywhere!
IMG_5079
IMG_5083
IMG_5092
IMG_5076
IMG_5102
IMG_5103
IMG_5104
IMG_5105
A lot of backlight and I don’t know how to make it better without reflectors or anything 😦
IMG_5106
IMG_5109
*starts building home under tree*
image
Took a selfie, looked like a drag. Selfie workshop somebody please…
IMG_5111
IMG_5112
IMG_5114
If I lived in Japan, I’d probably jog too. But all of them were looking down at their phones. Jaded by sakura???
Then we moved on because I was spending too much time without having reached the destination.

IMG_5120
Thank god we moved on because I fell in love with one tree.
IMG_5121
I gazed so long in awe of such beauty.
IMG_5122
;___;
IMG_5123
Same tree. Can’t get enough.
IMG_5130
It’s a forbidden love. They had a fence around this garden just like a chastity belt.
IMG_5132
IMG_5135
Don’t go sightseeing with me if you can’t stare at just one thing for long. Coming from someone with short attention span lol.
IMG_5139
image
Took a selfie. Petal on my chin.

IMG_5141
Ok I started walking again.
IMG_5143
Cute stuff! Want to study horticulture now.
IMG_5145
Don’t know where I am…
IMG_5149
This could be Nijubashi Bridge (二重橋) according to the map. Who knows? Google does. Let me Google it.
IMG_5151
Erm… Looks like half of it. Anyway, it was a dead end so we went to look for Otemon Gate (大手門).
IMG_5153
I gave up reading maps because I discovered I had no flair for it. I preferred asking people and letting them point while rapping in Japanese I only partially understand, then thank them and walk towards where they pointed.
IMG_5155
IMG_5158
IMG_5161

IMG_5165
Otemon gate really means big hand.
IMG_5166
I want to wear kimono too!! But money!!!!!
IMG_5168
Here it is! From the inside… and construction works all around it.
IMG_5171
IMG_5172
IMG_5173
IMG_5174
Not sure where I was, but it’s highly likely the Imperial Palace East Garden (東御苑). LOL touring or losting?
IMG_5176
IMG_5177
IMG_5181
I really wished I hadn’t planned the itinerary so ambitiously because I wanted to spend a full day on this patch of grass but we were already behind time -___-
IMG_5182
IMG_5184
image
That suit guy is always in the frame. Photobomb goals!!!
image
I’ve told some people that I hope that one day I can follow a family around a theme park and keep appearing in their photos with the same face. Not in the form of a ghost la. Also hope that they’d send me all their photos LOL 😀
IMG_5190
This was a stupid thing to do, especially with knit on. Yuxuan started saying omg Casia you become hay Casia T_T It was enjoyable while it lasted.
IMG_5192
Why can others do it without becoming hay 😦
IMG_5193
IMG_5194
Can’t read this but all it leads to is just an elevated rest area.
IMG_5195
Very nice view but if you actually rested on the benches in the centre, you get to see sky is all.
IMG_5196
IMG_5197
image
Drowning in sakura because they are everywhere.
IMG_5198
So pretty everywhere 🙂
IMG_5199
IMG_5201
Don’t know what this is but the mosaic is ultra neat!!!
IMG_5202
Kita-Hanebashimon Gate (北桔橋門) was for exiting and ??? we thought we were lost ??? so we turned back around.
IMG_5205
Wanted to take a panda selfie amongst these bamboo but the area was sort of crowded and it would’ve been awkward.
IMG_5208
IMG_5209
IMG_5212
IMG_5213
Then we realised that we weren’t lost and we were supposed to exit so we walked back there again. At least we got to see more pretty flowers 🙂
image
#ootw #outfitonthewall because the wall looked really nice but unclimbable. Also check out my calf muscle (it was only day 2 T_T)! It was transitioning from a calf (leg) to a calf (cow). Can you not…

IMG_5217
Walking towards Kitanomaru Park (北の丸公園) and Chidorigafuchi (千鳥ヶ淵).
IMG_5220
We were very behind time – it was about noon and we had plans for Ueno and Asakusa on the same day!! So we chose to visit Chidorigafuchi out of the two adjacent places.
IMG_5222
Here we were rushing around (in a stroll) because our days in Tokyo were numbered and then there’s this man leisurely painting the scenery. I need to learn to paint too, to prepare for future awesome retirement.
IMG_5224
IMG_5227
Climbed a hilly terrain of sorts with some difficulty because it’s steep and rooty. Also saw elderly walking around like it’s nothing.
IMG_5225
Why are we opposite Chidorigafuchi???
IMG_5226
Beautiful but far T_T
IMG_5228
Yuxuan was worried we wouldn’t have time for Ueno if we continued trudging without a guaranteed route so we turned back.
IMG_5229
Walked and asked for directions to the nearest station and took a train to Ueno from Takebashi station.

We were also rather hungry by then. Have I mentioned I constantly disregarded time and had to have Yuxuan remind me about lunch and dinner?? I know right. How unlikely when all people think of me is food.
Next post will be about Ueno. Can’t carry on here yet because I’ve not made any videos and I really want to put the LOL flamingoes in the same post 🙂 Will do soon!! Stay tuned 😀

Part 1Part 3Part 4Part 5Part 6Part 7Part 8Part 9Part 10Part 11

Leave a Reply

