Spring in Tokyo (Part 3): Ueno

Flickr #casiaintokyo
Part 1Part 2Part 4Part 5Part 6Part 7Part 8Part 9Part 10Part 11

Day 2 (continued)

Reached Ueno! Hungry and looking for lunch at 2pm.
IMG_5231
Rad geta! I want to wear geta too!
IMG_5236
I was sure I had the name of the shop somewhere (photos or check-in) but I can’t find it now??? Ok it’s just across the station and has a huge steamy bowl of not-food at the entrance.
IMG_5235
The vending machine for ordering! So I went out to look at the menu and back in to read the buttons for about 10 times before we could choose what we want lol.
There’s also no chance to take photo of the cute little ticket every time because there will be a highly efficient staff ready to retrieve it and feed you ASAP.
IMG_5233
Everyone who says food in Japan is expensive, NO???? Lunch is usually below 500 yen!!
IMG_5234
Kakiage with udon! 😀 Forgot what it’s called on the menu. Explains why I had to take so long to order -___-
Pity the tempura got soggy really quick otherwise it would’ve been so tasty.

IMG_5237
Crossed back and ??? where is the zoo??? So I approached and asked a stranger while everyone was waiting for the green man. She told me the way there and then said my Japanese is good HAHAHAHAHA after that I don’t know how to reply. I think she changed her mind right then. The green man could’ve come sooner!!
IMG_5241
So while walking through Ueno Park (上野公園) we saw potted flowers on sale! Of course I wanted to bring home some sakura. But of course I didn’t want it to die and become a potted twig…
IMG_5242
Also cute bonsai! Ok we continued walking. Me to avoid heartbreak, Yuxuan to faster get to the zoo.
IMG_5244
Wanted to go to the temple because it’s so gorgeous!! Also, we haven’t gone to any yet. But animals first.
IMG_5245
IMG_5246
IMG_5247
IMG_5248
IMG_5250
It’s quite a long distance to the zoo, not that it bothers me. Ok, it bothered my calves and ankles because my calves were growing into cows and my ankles were just not used to intense usage…
IMG_5253
Nonetheless, walking amongst flowers makes walking around tenfolds better.
IMG_5254

Yay! We reached Ueno Zoo (恩賜上野動物園)!!!
IMG_5257
It was already nice before we stepped in. Because entrance tickets were only 600 yen. It’s free for children 12 and below. Can’t initiate educational zoo visits better than free entrance!! Public holidays it opens free for all. Amazing.
IMG_5259
Five-storey pagoda 🙂
IMG_5263
A swan lepaking under a sakura tree.
IMG_5265
Omg its leg is coming out from its back??
IMG_5266
Don’t know what kind of monster I am but I look at this and think of chicken wings…
IMG_5267
Not sure what our plan of route was but we missed the main section of the zoo (panda, tiger, gorilla, etc.) entirely. It closes at 5pm, and we had about 2 hours left T_T
IMG_5270
The sign said there’s another species of deer and I was hanging around waiting for it to emerge from who-knows-where. The other deer on the sign is a super fluffy one! Almost a yak!!
IMG_5271
Then there’s this bastard crow. I thought it was those non-parasitic friend kind of thing, like helping it to get bugs off its body and stuff like that…
IMG_5273
But no! That bastard crow was like plucking its fur off???? For what?? Bird nest ah???
IMG_5274
Then the deer was like sad.
IMG_5276
The video embedded below will have a snippet of the intense deer battle lol.
IMG_5278
Cutie pie magpie 🙂 posed for me and all that and flew away only after I was done. Thanks bro!
IMG_5283
“Should I jump?”
IMG_5286
“When is someone going to bail me out?”
IMG_5287
“I guess… never.”
IMG_5292
Prairie dogs are so not dogs. They’re so rodent.

IMG_5293
Cool monorail thingy that had queues forever so… we’ll walk.
Omgosh imagine having this sort of things going around a country, any country, at slow speeds like sightseeing board-trains, kinda like land-cruises. That’d be so awesome!!!
IMG_5294
IMG_5296
IMG_5295
What… the birds have real estate.
IMG_5298
IMG_5300
Such pretty birds.
IMG_5302
Sparrows so plump 🙂
IMG_5305
Omg pelicans killed me. They were just idling around and trying not to move as much as possible. The second from the left is the ultimate derp!!!! Hahahahaha 😀
IMG_5308
Got some ice-cream and yummy ice-cream in almost ice-cream-temperature weather is bae.
IMG_5309
Crossed the road and suddenly there was a lady shouting a bunch of things in Japanese and gesturing us to move aside. The only thing I caught was “うま” and I was like horse? horse? what horse??? Then after a few minutes…
IMG_5311
OH HORSE!!
IMG_5312
IMG_5313
😀

Walked to the Madagascan area and they had so many lemurs.
IMG_5323
KING JULIANS EVERYWHERE!!!!
IMG_5320
There was some pro photographer beside me and he pointed and said something something “こども” something “あそこ”. Japanese is awesome. I just needed keywords to comprehend. There’s a kid!!!!
IMG_5324
Sooooo precious!!
IMG_5325
Suddenly forgot how to reply. Wanted to say I saw it but I forgot how to. It was weird to say thank you also. Zzzz… So I just “うん!” and made positive-sounding sounds.
Then I moonwalked out of the scene…
Sorry man, I was really grateful for that because I hadn’t notice it and was about to walk away! So thank you so much!! and positive-sounding sounds. 🙂
IMG_5327
IMG_5328
Is this a camellia?
IMG_5329
Whatever it is, it’s a beauty.
IMG_5332
Stumbled upon this and I was like whaaaattt!!!! I WANNA!!!! But it was not a part of the zoo. The fence says it all.
IMG_5333
And how amazing are cherry blossoms? They sprout from wherever they please!
IMG_5336
IMG_5337
Walked back through the lemur land again…
IMG_5340
LOL a bunch of them were huddled together on a tightrope???
IMG_5338
IMG_5339
And a few were having a relay race??? Hahahaha animals are so funny 😀

IMG_5341
IMG_5342
IMG_5344
These flamingoes pretty much made my day.
IMG_5345
Also noticed that they were really pigmented.
IMG_5346
In Singapore, the flamingoes I recall were mostly closer to a pale pink machiam laksek. Not sure if different species or different age or just laksek.
IMG_5347
IMG_5348
IMG_5349
IMG_5352


Ok that’s the video I have. Didn’t film much in the zoo.
Watch with the subtitles if you don’t understand why I find them so funny 🙂 Omg the flamingoes.

IMG_5354
Tried to take a stealth shot of a super cute sleeping baby with rosy cheeks but it turned out so blur ;___;
IMG_5360
Armadillos are energetic as hell I didn’t have a single clear photo of them! And they’re darting about without purpose whatsoever hahahahaha 😀 They did remind me of cockroaches though, with a stiff back and tiny limbs scuttling about lol.
IMG_5363
If this isn’t a fruit bat I don’t know what is.
IMG_5364
It’s clutching a piece of fruit, if it’s not a fruit bat at least it’s fruit and bat.
IMG_5368
The giraffe is so cute!! But its enclosure is really small T_T
IMG_5369
And this is an okapi!! OMG I’ve never heard of an okapi before and it’s as cute as its name!!!!! It’s like a hybrid of giraffe and zebra.
IMG_5370
Don’t know if I go to a zoo to look at animals or plants -___-
IMG_5371
IMG_5372
Falcon…? Sorry, I’m just guessing.
Then they were playing music and getting people to exit over PA. There was another exit closer to the end we were at so we left through that gate. Also because that’s the direction of the pond!! 😀

IMG_5375
Street food galore!!!!!!
IMG_5373
IMG_5376
Yakisoba!
IMG_5377
Wakaranai…
IMG_5378
Oden! Was tempted to get some but the vendor was smoking right there so nope.
IMG_5381
Got some yakitori 🙂 Not bad. Tsukune was better than momo.
IMG_5382
Literally tako yaki. Like the octopus is getting grilled.
IMG_5383
IMG_5385
Don’t know why it seemed so appealing but it was nice.
IMG_5387
Darn cool way to grill fish!!!! Was all set to video it but the vendor kinda gestured a no-photography-pls then I took a picture anyway. It’s too fascinating!!
People who were eating there just before the picture were sitting around the charcoal square. So campfire!!
IMG_5388
More yakitori.
IMG_5389
Dango! I still remember hearing 団子三兄弟 from way back when I was in Japan as a kid.
IMG_5390
Okonomiyaki!
IMG_5391
Toumorokoshi!
IMG_5392
Felt like buying but I didn’t. I’m kinda regretting not feasting non-stop while I was there.
IMG_5393
Takoyaki!! My appetite wasn’t its usual humongous while I was there. Dammit.
IMG_5394
Yakitori again.
IMG_5395
That shoulder made me miss the smoke shot! 😦

IMG_5396
Google suggests that this might be Benten-do Temple (弁天堂) but I could be wrong.
IMG_5397
IMG_5399
IMG_5403
IMG_5404
Found the boat pond of Shinobazu Pond (不忍池)!!!!!!!
IMG_5405
Don’t know how ticketing works and it seemed like it has closed.
IMG_5406
So I tried to ask a person. Of course I had no idea what he was trying to say. All I understood was that there was not enough time. BUT WHY WERE OTHERS ALLOWED TO JOIN THE QUEUE????
IMG_5407
So we’re just standing there and umm… what…. and then suddenly he said something something “15分” and I was like 15 minutes??? We can go for 15 minutes???!?!?! Don’t know how to say all that in Japanese so just said “OK!” and we got the tickets!!!!! 😀
IMG_5419
Walau… if I understood from the start we probably would have 10 minutes more! T_T
IMG_5411IMG_5412
Hanami on water is so much better!!!
IMG_5416
image
I was all pro-rowboat but Yuxuan wanted the pedal boat and then I remembered I needed my hands for the cameras.
image
Was gonna type some caption on Instagram and after typing “Boat” I was busy taking pictures and somehow a bunch of exclamation marks were typed and it posted on its own??? But LOL so I left it that way.
IMG_5417
IMG_5420
After a while I started waving at strangers walking along the pond. Because you can’t do that in your home country… And there were people who waved back! 😀 Hahahaha 😀 One lady even paused walking to bow!!!!! 😀 kawaii 😀
IMG_5421
IMG_5423
Ueno is great ❤
IMG_5424
IMG_5425
Some petals falling 🙂 Everything is so pretty I love it alllllllllllllllll!!!!
IMG_5426
Ok time to go back because they were closing.
IMG_5427
IMG_5429
IMG_5428
Pedalling to dock is so difficult!! Because when we had to leave, so did the whole pond! Knocked into many people and also had to bastardly push another boat away because we were trapped in the wrong section -___- sorry man…

IMG_5430
IMG_5432
Awwww 🙂
IMG_5433
IMG_5434
IMG_5435
I want to live in Japan!!!! T___T
IMG_5438
Only person wearing more than 2 colours.
IMG_5442
IMG_5439
IMG_5444
See you, bae pond!

IMG_5445
No idea what this is but it looked delicious!!
IMG_5446
Asked them and I heard things like “豚” (pork) and “お好み焼き” (okonomiyaki) and I’m like ok!!
IMG_5447
Yum!!!!!!!!!
IMG_5448
IMG_5450
K I honestly thought these were real crab meat!
IMG_5452
Then I got distracted by the next stall with ice shot glasses and candies??
IMG_5453
Then I went back to the crab sticks…
IMG_5454
It’s not crab lor…. It’s fish cake T___T #tiopian
I have snippets of these food in motion, by the way. I will edit the videos soon and upload on the last post of this trip.

IMG_5463
IMG_5465
IMG_5466
Walked back into the park and…
IMG_5462
Such a majestic Kiyomizu Kannon-do Temple (清水観音堂) before me!!! Framed with sakura and lanterns and all.
This is probably my favourite shot of the day. Although it’s like… blur…
IMG_5473
IMG_5474
Ummm… night fell really suddenly???
IMG_5476
Ok, that circle tree. It’s circle. !!!!!!
IMG_5478
IMG_5480
image
Confused, don’t know which hand, but chinchai…
IMG_5488
The view from the stage is really breathtaking. Even when it’s dark.
IMG_5491
IMG_5494
This tree is really fascinating.
IMG_5496

Ok then we left and headed towards the station.
IMG_5517
Went into L’Ueno to use the toilet first.
IMG_5498
YESSSSS BIDET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
image
Finally a bidet!! *takes selfie with bidet*
I used to despise it because I accidentally pressed a button while getting off the toilet bowl when I was a kid and a jet of hot water just shot my ass and it was boiling or something OMG. I love it now. It’s genius.
IMG_5497
Had to eat cakes in Japan!! Ginza Cozy Corner was right there and they had sakura specials 🙂
IMG_5499
IMG_5516
IMG_5513
Yuxuan’s strawberry mille crepe! Yummy!!
IMG_5500
IMG_5515
My sakura shortcake. Maybe that’s not its name but it sounds about right lol. Yummy!!! Prefer this because I love sponge cake 🙂 There’s also a layer of mochi and it gave the cake really interesting flavour 🙂
On hindsight, I should’ve eaten a slice of cake after every meal. T_T

Ok then we took a train to Asakusa and that will be in the next post because it’s 5am now and I need to sleep lol.

Part 1Part 2Part 4Part 5Part 6Part 7Part 8Part 9Part 10Part 11

Leave a Reply

