Spring in Tokyo (Part 6): Roppongi & Shinjuku & Shibuya

Flickr #casiaintokyo
Part 1Part 2Part 3Part 4Part 5Part 7Part 8Part 9Part 10Part 11

Day 3 (continued)

IMG_5626
We went to Roppongi!
IMG_5627
Walked around and found the Roppongi Roppongi thing… But we were lost. Where is everything???
IMG_5628
We all by now know that I suck reading maps for this trip (I’m usually not too shabby at navigating). So we walked around aimlessly along some road, not knowing what to do…
IMG_5629
Found Hard Rock Cafe!! Yuxuan has a staff card and we got pins at 50% off 😀 YAY 😀
IMG_5630
Walked past a mart and was reminded that I wanted to treat myself to strawberries ;__; I DIDN’T!! ;___; I always am too far from the apartment to buy it back for supper!!! T___T

It was 2pm and Yuxuan cued lunch. I really don’t know how I could be so preoccupied that I put off eating (especially in Japan???) 😦
IMG_5632
Went into Komoro Soba since we walked past it earlier on and didn’t want to waste time exploring further.
IMG_5636
Oyako don and zaru soba set!!! 😀
IMG_5635
Yummy! Actually I’m appalled that my favourite Ootoya that I frequent in Singapore have food that taste better than most of the food I had in their own country! But it’s really so much more affordable here 🙂
IMG_5634
Soba was delicious!! Halfway through I was very stuffed but I don’t waste food so I ate them all 😀
There’s that little red pot of unknown liquid with the set and I didn’t know what I was supposed to do with it… so… I didn’t touch it. What is that??

IMG_5637
Roppongi is confusing… We were lost most of the time -__-
IMG_5638
Cute tiny little puppy!!!!!!!
IMG_5639
Then a staff approached me and said photography was not allowed 😦 but the other people in the pet store were also taking photos!! 😦 So many cute pets in there but you can’t see it here now 😦
Ok then we gave up trying to explore this area and headed to Shinjuku.

We spent a lot of time figuring out how to get out of Shinjuku station -____-
But it was a nice place to be lost! Lots of food everywhere!!! Didn’t buy because I didn’t want to carry so many things while we were walking around…
IMG_5640
Pretty!!!
IMG_5641
Looks so good!
IMG_5642
Wanted to buy this so much but I was so full from lunch!!! 😦
Next time I should stay in Shinjuku when I travel to Tokyo because ekiben land.
IMG_5643
Finally got out!!!!
IMG_5645
Shopped around some places like Lumine Est and Takashimaya and decided that Shinjuku was too big and messy and confusing for our tired and aching legs T___T
IMG_5646

We spent about 2 hours trying to get back into Shinjuku station to look for directions to Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building (東京都庁). For that I was rather angry T_T because we were tired and it was going to be dark soon!
Gave up trying to walk there and found a train that took us to Tochōmae station.
IMG_5647
Night scenery at observatories is not what I prefer 😦
IMG_5650
At the North Observatory while the cloudy evening approached. How to see Mount Fuji? T___T
IMG_5651
IMG_5653
It’s so dark I don’t really know what’s what…
IMG_5654
IMG_5655
There’s this building that looks like Big Ben, then there’s Tokyo Tower and Odaiba Palette Town’s Daikanransha.
IMG_5659
Bought a post card so that I could get these memorial stamps!!!
Only after this did I realise that train stations have their own stamps too!!! I love collecting stuff!! But I’ve already missed so many T_T
IMG_5698
Some stuff I bought at the souvenir shop at 202m lol and the pins I got at Hard Rock! 🙂
I also love the quality of the coins/medallions, which were only 100 yen! You’ll soon see the depth of this love HAHAHA!!
IMG_5661
Bought this from a vending machine while waiting for a train back to Shibuya. It looked interesting and IT TASTES GREAT!!!!!

Looked for dinner around Shibuya and I was being quite picky that night so… it took really long.
image
Went into Parco because there was some sign that said the top floor had lots of food.
image
CCTV monitor = selfie opportunity! HAHAHAHA
Ok we left because none of them seemed appealing…

Looked for dinner while we were walking back to our apartment. We were exhausted and my feet were sooooo painful and blistered from excessive aimless walking!
IMG_5694
Saw this and YAKITORI!!!!!! I WANT TO EAT YAKITORI!!!!!!!
Also heard of Nanbantei before as they have an outlet in Singapore, so up we went! Took an escalator to the 2nd floor because my legs could hardly work anymore 😦
IMG_5665
Raw vegetables were appetisers. They are so delicious. How can RAW vegetables taste so good???
IMG_5683
IMG_5682
IMG_5668
Pork wrapped asparagus! SO YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
IMG_5675
Salmon ochazuke!!!!!! Puts the instant ones I’ve been enjoying at home to utter shame.
IMG_5680
Stuffed shiitake!!!!!!!!!!!!! HEAVENLY ;____;
IMG_5685
Then a staff came and told us we had to order a drink. Izakaya rules? So I got this grapefruit juice! Not bad.
IMG_5687
Momo and tsukune!!!!!!!!!!!!! We had one each. Don’t know why Yuxuan was scrimping on this amazing dinner place???
IMG_5691
The price is really off-putting until you taste it. It’s worth it, honestly.
That’s all I had and it amounted to about 3,500 yen for me. Crazy but worth it.
Please eat at Nanbantei when you see one!!! Trust me!!!!

IMG_5695
On the way back, saw this slanted Hachiko statue at Tower Records and I burst out laughing!!!
IMG_5699
I bought an apple baumkuchen from a Sanrio store at Shibuya 109 Men’s!! Mostly because the box looked really cute 😛 and it was half-priced because it’s good till 6 April, so I wouldn’t feel so bad if I discarded it before finishing it.
IMG_5700
IMG_5701
It wasn’t very delicious lol… Quite disappointing after all that packaging goodness.
image
2am combini supper! I got Galbo Mini for half the price I paid for at the vending machine!!! #tiopian
Japan’s combini is great!!!! 😀

Next post will have pictures of super cute cutie pie!!!!!!!!!! And of course, some sakura. Stay tuned!

Part 1Part 2Part 3Part 4Part 5Part 7Part 8Part 9Part 10Part 11

Leave a Reply

