Spring in Tokyo (Part 7): Harajuku & Odaiba

Flickr #casiaintokyo
Part 1Part 2Part 3Part 4Part 5Part 6Part 8Part 9Part 10Part 11

Day 4

We were going to Yoyogi Park and with my very bad map-reading, I suggested we start from Shibuya station! 🙂 Asked a stranger for directions because my map and the city map were both not very useful for a bad navigator. He pointed towards the street we walked every day -___- while uttering a bunch of Japanese that went unheard. So I thanked him and walked towards where he pointed. Of course, we were lost again. So I asked someone else and she, too, started rapping and pointing. But I roughly got it, so we made our way down. Passing where our apartment was. We wasted so much time!! 😦
IMG_5704
Saw the NHK Broadcasting Center (NHK放送センター) so I know we were on the right track. The directions she gave (and I interpreted) was wrong?? But we just anyhow walked (as usual).

IMG_5705
Outside Yoyogi National Gymnasium (国立代々木競技場) we saw lots of colourful cars and tents around.
IMG_5710
It was Outdoor Day!
Suddenly Yuxuan was like “eh Casia! Dippin Dots!” then I’m like !!!!!!!
IMG_5712
So I bought a rainbow one 😀 even though it was so cold brrrrrrrrrrr anything for childhood!
IMG_5716
The vendor commented that I was also rainbow!! Hahahaha!!! 😀
IMG_5722
Saw some really good-looking kebab! But I came here for Japanese food!!!! So I passed :/
IMG_5718
I want!!!!
IMG_5724
It was crazy steep why would anyone dare to test drive this on a small little ramp??
IMG_5730
Nice view of the suspension roof on a bridge. On the bridge, Yuxuan’s empty cup flew down onto some tent and the vendors below were all very shocked by what seemed like an imbecile tourist. Said imbecile tourist ran down and apologised but the nice locals offered to discard it for her. Japanese are awesome 😀
Wasted a lot of strolling time at this distraction of a fair!!! 😦

IMG_5734
We found Yoyogi Park (代々木公園)!!! With lots of street foods!!!!! 😀
IMG_5735
Omgosh look at this mass of chicken skin :/
IMG_5744
It was already so crowded!! We also wanted to picnic but had no food and no mat -___-.
IMG_5746
Found more stalls along the way and quickly went to get some food for breakfast lol.
IMG_5748
Decided on an okonomiyaki although we had to wait around 10 minutes for it T_T
IMG_5749
IMG_5751
IMG_5753
IMG_5755
IMG_5756
This is obviously not ours. Because of me.
IMG_5760
Also got yakisoba while waiting for the pancake to be ready.
Our initial plan was to buy bento but Shibuya has none???? Especially early in the morning??? T_T
IMG_5761
Tried to look for an unoccupied bench to no avail. It’s the weekends after all 😦
IMG_5764
Found this beautiful ulu sakura petal-lined pathway!!!! ^____^
Being so ulu, we sat on a tree’s root and started our weird botak-view picnic…
image
Plastic bags were our makeshift leisure sheets, only enough for the food. Even so, we dropped so many bits on the dirt. We picked them up when we were done eating ok!!!
IMG_5765
Oishii!!!!!! 😀 Between the two I preferred yakisoba because okonomiyaki has a very complex taste lol. But they’re both yummy! 😀
image
After eating, we propped up her phone and connected my remote shutter and started taking silly shots in the forest. Benefits of uluness 🙂
image
I swapped my brogues out for my trainers because my toes were busted from walking so much the day before. I also wore toe socks thinking it could prevent my blistered toes from further rubbing against each other. It really felt so much better with toe socks on!!!!!! 😀 I bought a lot more later, so I could wear them all for the remaining days 🙂
image
AIYA.
image
Wore my earrings out that day since I brought them. So not used to having earrings in my piercings for years, my ears bled and became crusty. Gross. No wonder it was so painful the whole day T__T
image
鱼xuan can swim anywhere.
image
So many selfie sticks on the floor LOOOOLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!
image
YOU SHALL NOT PASS.
image
Bird me.
IMG_5770
Bird them. The crows in Japan are really big!!! They contrast with the sakura a lot but it makes for a nice photo 🙂
IMG_5772
The flowers in Japan are all so beautiful!!!! Would be so motivated to go jogging if Singapore had flowers like these and a temperature that doesn’t threaten heatstroke…
IMG_5774
IMG_5776
IMG_5778
No time to sit and admire flowers ;___;
IMG_5779
IMG_5780
Found our way out! Asked strangers for directions like an illiterate but they actually could speak English -___- They were so nice, going out of their way to help us! But… they gave us the wrong direction -___- Luckily we discovered a map that was easy to read lol…

IMG_5781
Meiji Shrine (明治神宮)!!!!!!!!!!
IMG_5783
It looks really grand and mesmerising in person but it dulls in comparison in pictures :/
IMG_5785
Really like this gate a lot. Don’t know why lol…
image
IMG_5787
IMG_5788
I like this place!!! 😀
IMG_5791
IMG_5792
She never tried to tell me how bad buttoning my cardigan looks… It was really cold at Yoyogi Park ok??
IMG_5803
Please forget about my cardigan.
IMG_5797
You may keep this in your memory instead…
IMG_5804
Why is everything so beautiful???
IMG_5805
This led to Kiyomasa’s Well. We didn’t go in.
IMG_5809
Well… (that’s my well face) (please get it or GET OUT LOL) it costed 500 yen to enter…
Immediate revenge cos I got dirt on my trousers from kneeling for this photo -____- Sorry Kiyomasa I bet your well is great… So if any of you can fork out the 500 yen, please go in and improve your luck. Maybe then your pants will remain clean 🙂
IMG_5811
IMG_5813
IMG_5814
IMG_5815
Sake barrels looking so cute and what they’re doing there explained.
IMG_5818
IMG_5820
!!!! Spy a cutie pie !!!!!!
IMG_5823
IMG_5825
IMG_5827
IMG_5828
That guy was just sitting there, blinking, breathing and,
IMG_5829
being the unfortunate subject of every tourist’s attention.
IMG_5832
Oh, and the little hearts in their roof wood are just so cute!!!!
Was buying some omamori and suddenly it grew really silent around us…
IMG_5834
BAM! Wedding!
IMG_5838
So beautiful!!!
IMG_5839
The topiaries ^___^
IMG_5840
IMG_5841
Wedding photoshoot! I’m not the only kaypoh ok!!!!!! There were about 15 other people crowded around. I was just looking at the kimono!!!
IMG_5842
Eh???? I took photo of the obi stuff at the back… Don’t tell me I deleted the photo to make space??? 😦
IMG_5847
IMG_5848
IMG_5850
Then I ran away from this area.
Also didn’t know where Yuxuan was… So, I just ran away silently because !!!!!!
IMG_5851
OMG!!!
IMG_5853
If you noticed from the pictures above, they all came separately???
IMG_5857
So pretty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
IMG_5858
She was so sian and cheeky and superrrrrrrrrr cute!!!!!
IMG_5859
It looks like Shichi-Go-San Festival?? But it’s nowhere near November!!
IMG_5860
Sooooo cute!!!!!
IMG_5861
IMG_5862
IMG_5863
IMG_5864
IMG_5865
The little one was making everyone crowding around laugh. Me included 😀
IMG_5866
She was really restless but sooooo adorable 😀 😀 😀
IMG_5867
IMG_5868
IMG_5869
Hahahaha I couldn’t delete any photos because it’s too cute! And my photos weren’t blurry at all!!!
IMG_5873
Distracted by another wedding…
Then I found Yuxuan again!!
IMG_5876
Kimonos are amazing!! Look at the swaddle man!!!
IMG_5877
The toilets in Meiji Shrine are darn amazing!!!!!! Their cubicles were round and the door slides into the cubicle. Space optimising, gorgeous and futuristic layout!!!!!! And not to mention, spotless!!! Would’ve taken a picture of the interior but there were people inside and that’d be quite rude…

Walked to Harajuku to look for lunch and shopping!! 😀
IMG_5881
Gindaco is a popular takoyaki chain and I wanted to eat takoyaki so… this I had for lunch! 😀
IMG_5883
Best damn takoyaki I have ever had!!!!! Huge chunk of octopus within the crunchy soft batter that came piping hot ;___; Sweet Jesus ;____;
Can’t wait to have them again from the Singapore branch; it probably wouldn’t taste as good but definitely better than whatever else I’ve been having!
IMG_5886
IMG_5889
IMG_5890
Aimlessly wandered onto Takeshita Street 😀
IMG_5892
They have 2 popular crêpe stalls adjacent to each other!!! How to choose when you only want one???
IMG_5894
So I walked around looking at which wrappers more people were holding… cannot count T___T
IMG_5895
Yuxuan said Angels Hearts had more wrappers so ok…
IMG_5897
Strawberry cheesecake is usually my choice of crêpe lol…
IMG_5900
Dayum!!!! 😀 Very delicious ^___^
IMG_5901
Wrapper is so cute too!! I hope I visit Japan soon again and get to try Marion Crêpes (and stuff myself with lots of food that I did not eat this time)!!
image
Purikura centres are abundant and really cheap!!!!!! 😀 400 yen per machine!
image
The good thing is they print individual copies so you don’t have to cut up the sheet into tiny photos you can hardly see! But not knowing what they’re saying while there’s a time limit is so stressful! That’s why the first one came out it a wrong format -___-
image
Look at Yuxuan!!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHA 😀
image
Tried to swag but the machine tried to cute me back. I lost the battle. PS I don’t pose like that (left image) ok!! I was just copying the example because I didn’t know what to do…
I liked shopping in Harajuku. I was skeptical at first because I thought it would be very Bugis Street and I have difficulty liking anything there. Takeshita Street had very nice and unique clothes (not just the Harajuku girls sort) and I bought a crazy awesome scarf thing for $50 with hardly any hesitation LOL.
Browsing stores offer comedy too, because of the slogan tee trend and their use of random English words that are seemingly cool.
image
Out notice put. HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!
image
Tear?????
image
I’m discover! 😀 HAHAHAHAHAHA 😀

IMG_5902
Strolled around Omotesando for a bit, but rushed off because we’re always behind time on the itinerary…
Took a train to Tochōmae station, hoping to go to the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building (東京都庁) and visit the South Observatory before night fell for a good view. The South Observatory closes at 6pm and we were just a little too late .___.
IMG_5906
Walked to Shinjuku station without the difficulty we faced the day before. Still really pissed about that…
Went to Muji, thought of having dinner at the café but decided against it. Went on and played at the arcade for a bit because I’m a sucker for UFO catchers. I really have badly influenced Yuxuan.
image
Hehehehehe ^___^ Should’ve stopped at Kirimi-chan because I caught it with less than 500 yen. Gambling addiction? T_T
IMG_5987
Bought a Pasmo because I was running out of value in my Suica and I wanted to keep the cards lol .__.

Headed to Odaiba, and the ride on the Yurikamome line was very pleasant because the scenery was so night-vibrant!
IMG_5910
Odaiba is so bloody far we reached there around 9.30pm -___-
IMG_5912
Alighted beside Palette Town because we wanted to go on the Daikanransha (大観覧車)!!!!
IMG_5915
It’s so pretty! I’m still bothered by how dark Japan gets when the sun goes down and early.
IMG_5917
Had dinner at First Kitchen first. Even its name told us to eat there first before riding the ferris wheel! Thank god because it was 10pm when we had this and they were about to close as we were finishing. If we’d miss it, that’d be no dinner till midnight???
IMG_5918
Nuggets were yummy!
IMG_5919
A slab of chicken, kinda fat, so-so…
IMG_5920
Butter shoyu potato! Sounded so promising but tasted ok only…
IMG_5921
Transparent car duh!!! 900 yen each 🙂
IMG_5924
Yay! Check out the reflection of the ferris wheel on the building!
IMG_5930
IMG_5931
IMG_5932
I was standing most of the time and it got frightening halfway through because it was kinda shaky?
IMG_5938
The heart!!
IMG_5943
IMG_5945
Tokyo Tower?
IMG_5946
Beautiful circuit!
IMG_5950
IMG_5953
IMG_5955
IMG_5957
So difficult to capture it not over-exposed nor under-exposed.
IMG_5958
IMG_5959
I tried…
IMG_5963
IMG_5966
Oh ya, can I just express my disappointment in the Rainbow Bridge? The whole time I saw it it was Green Bridge.
IMG_5967
IMG_5968
There’s also a bridge with a random stick poking out of nowhere and at first glance I didn’t know it was a bridge until she told me.
IMG_5969
I think Odaiba is a place you have to spend at least half a day at, because there are so many areas I had hope to visit but we only made it to Daikanransha -____-
IMG_5970
I’m a Hatsune Miku who can’t sing lol. Anyway, spent so much time in the arcade again… I had terrible luck and spent 2,500 yen on capsules and catching one small shiba inu. Thing about UFO catchers is, if you don’t catch anything, you lose! So you have no choice but to leave with at least one thing.
IMG_5972
Then we left because it was 11pm zzz -___- normally at this timing we’re heading back to the apartment or heading out to look for supper -____-
IMG_5973
Goodbye disappointing Green Bridge.
IMG_5974
You can also see here that Yuxuan uses her phone a lot. 很有钱 man.

It was late but the day(/night) didn’t end when we reached Shibuya past midnight lol. Will continue in the next post!! 🙂

Part 1Part 2Part 3Part 4Part 5Part 6Part 8Part 9Part 10Part 11

Leave a Reply

